jump to navigation

Blessings on Dr. Green Monday June 22, 2009

Posted by gingerbreadman in Uncategorized.
trackback
UPDATE:
Annie’s doing better
now.  Thank heavens for Dr. Green!  The part I’d left out because I was
such a wreck Saturday was the problem of having $350.00 in the bank at
the drop of the hat to pay for the surgery.  I had $50 on my bank card
thinking she just needed some phenegran or something simple.  All the
banks were closed already.  The doctor told me I could pay the rest of
the charges for the day ( another $90) Monday but that she needed the
surgery.

 Mike blew a gasket when I called and told him how much the
surgery was.  I almost understand how he felt…$350 is a lot of money,
and we’d just replaced the transmission in his truck last week AND
bought a used van for me ( a CHEAP van, but nonetheless, money we
didn’t usually put out).  But this was Annie!!! 
I told the vet I would pay the rest of it the first when my SSI comes
in.  He looked me in the eyes and asked me, "WILL you pay it then,
because I’m carrying thousands of dollars on the books from people
who’ve told me that".  I’d been crying and hugging Annie since he’d
drawn blood on her 20 minutes earlier to see just how bad the infection
was, I had almost collapsed in horror when he told me she needed the
surgery NOW because it was so bad.  I choked out how YES YES YES I
would pay him the first, as soon as his doors opened.

I don’t know what made him believe me.  I don’t even know if he did. 
Perhaps he just loves animals so much he couldn’t send one home to die
when someone promised to pay.  But thanks to him, she had her surgery. 
He called me early Sunday morning and asked me if I was ready to pick
up my girl.  I laughed and said I’d be there in 10 minutes.  He called
twice to check on her too.  I hope everyone who has a beloved pet has a vet as wonderful as our Dr. Green.

My Annie is safe and home.  Puts so much in perspective about what is important.

Comments»

1. Rob - Monday June 22, 2009

And $350 is a bargain. I\’ve still refuse to add up how much Oz\’s near death experience cost and then the airline tickets and quarantine over here. I used to say people were crazy to spend so much on a pet, but I guess I\’m crazy now. Glad to hear she\’s doing better!

2. Vonnie - Monday June 22, 2009

There are good people out there yet. Hope she can recover soon!

3. Rose - Monday June 22, 2009

I missed the earlier post about Annie, but am so happy she\’s doing so much better! Do you know what you can do to prevent this from happening again? (To save Annie from any misery as well as to save money.) Annie is a part of your family and provides much love and affection; you just can\’t put a price on that.

4. Jacque - Wednesday June 24, 2009

Hi Lynn,Thank the Lord that she is better and thank the Lord for Dr. Green! Your situation with Annie made me think of this story…A man and his dog were walking along a road. The man was enjoying the scenery, when it suddenly occurred to him that he was dead. He remembered dying, and that the dog walking beside him had been dead for years. He wondered where the road was leading them.After a while, they came to a high, white stone wall along one side of the road. It looked like fine marble. At the top of a long hill, it was broken by a tall arch that glowed in the sunlight.When he was standing before it he saw a magnificent gate in the arch that looked like mother-of-pearl, and the street that led to the gate looked like pure gold. He and the dog walked toward the gate, and as he got closer, he saw a man at a desk to one side.When he was close enough, he called out, ‘Excuse me, where are we?’‘This is Heaven, sir,’ the man answered. ‘Wow! Would you happen to have some water?’ the man asked.Of course, sir. Come right in, and I’ll have some ice water brought right up.’ The man gestured, and the gate began to open.‘Can my friend,’ gesturing toward his dog, ‘come in, too?’ the traveler asked.‘I’m sorry, sir, but we don’t accept pets.’The man thought a moment and then turned back toward the road and continued the way he had been going with his dog.After another long walk, and at the top of another long hill, he came to a dirt road leading through a farm gate that looked as if it had never been closed. There was no fence.As he approached the gate, he saw a man inside, leaning against a tree and reading a book.‘Excuse me!’ he called to the man. ‘Do you have any water?’‘Yeah, sure, there’s a pump over there, come on in.’‘How about my friend here?’ the traveler gestured to the dog.‘There should be a bowl by the pump.’They went through the gate, and sure enough, there was an old-fashioned hand pump with a bowl beside it. The traveler filled the water bowl and took a long drink himself, then he gave some to the dog.When they were full, he and the dog walked back toward the man who was standing by the tree.‘What do you call this place?’ the traveler asked.‘This is Heaven,’ he answered.‘Well, that’s confusing,’ the traveler said. ‘The man down the road said that was Heaven, too.’‘Oh, you mean the place with the gold street and pearly gates? Nope. That’s hell.’‘Doesn’t it make you mad for them to use your name like that?’‘No, we’re just happy that they screen out the folks who would leave their best friends behind.’

5. Bev - Thursday June 25, 2009

Oh Lynn! I am so glad that Annie is okay. I am like you. I get SO attached to my dogs. I mean, where else can you get such unconditional love and acceptance. I am thankful that your vet is a compassionate man who could see that you truly loved your Annie. I hope she recovers quickly! God bless you!

6. SAAM - Saturday July 11, 2009

Glad to hear that Annie is doing better. And what a great vet! Love and Hugs, Lynn


Leave a Reply

