jump to navigation

My Brain Hurts Friday January 25, 2008

Posted by gingerbreadman in Ain't THAT a whoopin'?!.
trackback
Literally.  Figuratively.  Subjectively.  Imaginately.  If there’s a way for it to hurt, it does.  Heck, even my hair hurts – I’ve got split ends I didn’t have 4 days ago.
 
Thanks to that darn La and fax machines.
 
La likes to get rowdy (-y +ier) in the evenings after Daddy gets home, especially if he is sitting anywhere near me.  For some reason, her favorite game is climb up Daddy’s back like a spider monkey, perch on his shoulders and LAUNCH! herself onto me.  It’s not OUR favorite game, but when has that ever mattered to a 4 year old anywhere, let alone someone like the La-less?  So, she’s playing Spider Monkey LAUNCH the other night when she LAUNCHES! just a little too hard, overshoots my arm and kicks me dead in the head, on the side I’ve had all that lovely surgical work done already.  I see stars and birdies…then I see nothing.  Next thing I know, Mike is shaking me, my finger hurts because my teeth are wrapped around it and I’ve apparently had a seizure.  And yep, it turns out it’s a concussion too. 
 
I love my youngest, I do, I do.
 
So I’ve spent the past couple days a bit wobbly and headachy – dizzy, thy name is Lynn.  The show must go on, regardless of the condition of the players, of course, so I’ve tried to carry on my work as best as I can, and luckily, one thing I can do is SIT DOWN and shop around for fax machines online.
 
Turns out after a Federal ID number and liability insurance (check and check), that’s the next thing we need to start up our business venture.  So I’ve spent this week looking everywhere online at all these different fax machines, pricing them, comparing, reading customer reviews, studying consumer reports, trying to decide if I want an all-in-one or just a fax/copier…
I’ve decided I have no damn idea.  I’m lost in a sea of possibilities.  My genius brother the IT guy says the HP 6310.  But the HP’s drink ink and it might be more machine than we need as mostly what we’ll be doing is faxing.  My parents have a simple Panasonic, but I’ve read the paper jams on those.  I like the Brother, but can’t find many customer reviews on those.
 
Help me.  I’m melting, I’m melting!!!
 
What’re you using?  What’re the pros and cons?  How long have you had it?  Is it a GOOD, FAST fax?  Does it drink ink?  Is that even what I need to worry about most?
 
I’ll visit everyone as soon as my head heals and I can stay online longer than half an hour at a time without needing a nappy, I promise!
 
Blessings!

Comments»

1. Kat - Friday January 25, 2008

Well… when I watched Celebrity Apprentice last week (don\’t tell anyone I watched this, how embarrassing!) they were profiling the new Kodak printer AND the big deal was that Kodak claims that they now are producing their printer ink for HALF THE PRICE of their competitors!!  Check it out and let us know…
Kat

2. Donene - Friday January 25, 2008

Oh honey, I hope you are feeling better. I have been home most of the week and am ready to go postal. My aunt has the Lemark X5470. It is an all in one copy/scan/fax. She hasnt had any promblem\’s with it. Have a good weekend.

3. M - Friday January 25, 2008

HP 6200 series.   Old technology.  Scan, color pictures, fax, print, duplicate  but it won\’t handle legal sized documents.  Cost?  Under $200. It does take 2 print cartriges – one black, one color;  or,  if making photos at the highest quality, 2 different color cartriges.  It has served me well for the past year.  I\’ve never used the "fax" function.   

4. Becca - Friday January 25, 2008

Hon,
We have the HP7410 and love it. All in one, easy peasy!
Love you!
Becca

5. Becca - Friday January 25, 2008

Go listen to my song tonight…..might make you smile, might make you cry, but I love and it you should know why…
B

6. KENT - Saturday January 26, 2008

I\’m actually using the brother 1270e.  It\’s simple, only does black, uses carbon paper instead of ink.  If you\’re using it for sending faxes it\’s good.  receiving faxes does fine too,  only complaint is cartridges cost quite a bit, but I get a lot of faxes and don\’t need to change it for a few months.  It will copy, doesn\’t scan or anything fancy.  it does fine for my business.  It wasn\’t expensive.  My previous fax machine was having problems…wouldn\’t receive faxes from computers, only from fax machines.  This machine seems to talk to \’em all.  I\’m wishing you the best and hope you feel better.  🙂  Kent

7. Litespreader - Sunday January 27, 2008

Interesting to find out what works best..  I don\’t know.I do know that I\’m worried about you.  Get a leash.. something.. whatever it takes.  I am the first to believein giving a kid tons of freedom, but not at this price.  Not your health.. your life, for goodness sakes.  I\’m sorry girl.. about the lecture.  It just scares me.love you lots. t


Leave a comment