jump to navigation

The Past Five Days Monday November 26, 2007

Posted by gingerbreadman in Blessings.
trackback
I’m going with the Comic Sans MS Font Style for this one, because I’m trying to keep my spirits up.  There are many things I’m thankful for, that I’ve been blessed with, and I experienced most or all of them over this past weekend.
 
I’m blessed with good doctors.  The gastro guy I saw Wednesday afternoon decided I’ve probably got a non-functioning gallbladder due to the symptoms I’m still having even on the Prevacid and the radical change in diet I’ve made.  Still with the sick in the morning, still with the runs (five months, non-stop now), still sometimes surprise upchucking out of nowhere for a day or two straight on and then back to normal, and I’m rarely hungry.  The only thing that doesn’t make me a classic gall bladder surgery candidate is the lack of severe pain.  So, tomorrow I get to go have a Hida Scan with CCK for a few hours.  Then I’ll find out if I have my gall bladder out, again.  Ah well, I had a few minutes of crying after I got out of the doc’s office, I hate surgery, I know it’ll be a nightmare adjusting to another diet plan without a gall bladder if it has to come out, keeping La off me while I heal will be pure hell…BUT  I’m thankful, too.  I’d be so grateful to have this gastro-mess over with finally, only one pill a day to take to keep me able to keep food down.  It’d be wonderful to have answers to the WHY am I still sick?! question. 
 
Thursday was wonderful, of course.  We spent it at Mom and Dad’s, my brothers were there with their wives and my nephews.  Big dinner, everything looked, smelled, tasted wonderfully.  Becca even made her first pumpkin pie.  Jess was able to come eat with us, that’s a big change, she usually has to work the noon shift but didn’t have to go in til 3, so we ate early and had the entire family.  Laura even ate some turkey, and let me tell you, that is one big deal for the kid who lives on strawberry Pop*Tarts, wheat bread crusts and chocolate milk!  Her one weak spot is fish though, so we called the meat turkeyfish, she tried it and loved it.  Yee-haw!!!  We had our long, lingering, lazy lunch feast at Mom’s, visited, played and laughed ourselves to exhaustion and travelled home where I just made a simple baked ham dinner and we lazed around all night watching The Incredibles and talking about where to put the Christmas tree.
 
Oh yeah…the one blight on my day, besides losing my wonderful lunch (of course I did).  When we moved in June, Mike and the boys were in charge of the basement, actually, they commandeered it-telling the womenfolk they knew what needed to be moved, what needed to go to the dump, etc and we could just stay out of the way while they did all that heavy lifting.  I should have known better.  We had managed over the years to collect 3 Christmas trees; one Jess had given us the first year we didn’t go with a live tree because Becca’s allergies were so bad, one Mike had bought because Jess’ tree was a bit small for what we wanted, and our PRIZE tree, the one we’d inherited from Mom when she decided to downsize from her huge tree to a smaller.  Now, Mom had her tree for years, and it is gorgeous.  We were thrilled to get it, because the equivalent retails now for a couple hundred bucks, and it isn’t even pre-lit.
 
Guess what those damn males did.  Just guess.  Yep.  In their hurry to get packed up and moved over to the new place, they grabbed ALL the trees and took them to the dump.  While the girls and I, who know the difference in an heirloom tree and one from K^Mart  were upstairs packing away clothes, wrapping up dishes and dragging tables and chairs to the wagon to be carried to the New House, Mike was throwing away all our trees.  My Mother’s Tree.  Oh, and all the lights, too.  They were neatly packed in with the tree in the box.  Katie and I figured it out when she decided to go looking for the tree Thursday morning because these children have it in their heads we should put the tree up on Black Friday.  As Amy Winehouse sings, "No, no, no."
 
I can’t decide whether I’m eager for Mom to find out Mike threw away her tree so he’ll finally get the punishment he so richly deserves, or don’t want her to ever find out because it’ll upset her so much.  I’m enjoying how worried he is what she’s going to do when she comes over in mid-December for Laura’s birthday.
 
So, on Black Friday I had to add a new Christmas Tree and lights to my long list of Things To Get.  Oh goody.  Because buying for six daughters, a man, parents, brothers, sis in laws,nephews and assorted others isn’t enough, is it?  It WAS fun getting out shopping with just Becca and Bratzilla, even with we did go all over creation and too much money was spent.  Poor Becca was so tired.  Bless her heart.
 
Saturday we had Emmy’s boyfriend Jeremy over most of the day.  We played Phase 10, Emmy whipped him good on T, Hawk and his Skateboarding game and they made out in my kitchen when we finally let them have fifteen minutes alone.  He ate my chili and only whimpered once.  It was a fun Saturday.
 
Sunday, eh…more Walhell, but grocery shopping this time.  Whimper.  Do you want to know how hard it is to get any Christmas shopping done when there is at least one kid with you everywhere you go?
 
Today, I wait for tomorrow.  I’m thinking of how nice it will be if the test result is bad, and it is my gall bladder and the problem is solved.  I’m thinking of how nice it will be if it isn’t my gall bladder and I can at least not have to go through another surgery and recovery, learning to eat everything boiled.  Ick.  Either way, I’m determined I’m going to find the blessing in this, dangit.  Tis the season, after all, right?

Comments»

1. Jane - Monday November 26, 2007

Well, I\’m not sure what to hope for… maybe just spontaneous recovery???  I do hope you feel better sooner than later.
Sorry about your tree.  I think you should make Mike  tell your mother.  Hehe – I\’m evil.  Of course, if he bought you a VERY nice present you could reconsider.
I\’ve always wondered why MSN doesn\’t let us have more fonts. 

2. M - Monday November 26, 2007

Not everything boiled !! No, no, no !!
 
We\’re counting on you to come through this. 

3. Rose - Monday November 26, 2007

Good for you for trying to find the blessings in this, dear one; any outcome will be a blessing if they can resolve this. If you don\’t mind, though, I\’m going to continue to hold some sorrow and worry about you. This has gone on so long: the vomiting, the runs, the pain. I know sometimes it takes years of suffering and many different doctors and tests to identify some illnesses (yes, I watch "Mystery Diagnosis" on TV), but I\’m really praying with such passion and fervor that a diagnosis and a solution is found for you. I\’m not much for eating animals; would you be able to eat potatoes or pasta? I\’d rather have those than meat.
 
The fact that you still carry on and sally forth and all that – lol! – shows just how strong your spirit is! Black Friday? You really braved the frenzied masses? Sounds like you had a great Thanksgiving (turkeyfish – ho!) and weekend with those you love. May God continue to grace your heart and spirit, and may all those who attend to you for the test be kind and thoughtful.

4. wendy - Monday November 26, 2007

Turkeyfish!! LMAO  God I love it and your lil alien and her alien ways!  *grins
 
I really hope they fig out what the heck is up with your tummy… this has gone on long enough for sure.  I\’ve been trying to catch you on msgr but have apparently failed miserably lol.  I really really really need your addr and ph# tho.. cuz I gotta box I keep adding to and before it costs me a million plus to mail it…. (cuz I\’ll just keep on adding!)  I need to send it your way.  🙂
 
Love you my Doofus Sistah!!!!!!! My thoughts are with you and your family too.
 
~S4ssy

5. ♥ Aimee - Tuesday November 27, 2007

sounds like things are great…
*~* :o) before you put on a frown… :o) make sure there are no smiles available… :o) *~*

6. Gina - Tuesday November 27, 2007

I\’m guessing your short memory will be reliving the loss of Mom\’s Christmas Tree very year … I feel bad for you, but Mike\’s gone and done something he can\’t come back from this time.  God help him.  Turkeyfish … I bet you\’re hoping she won\’t ask about feathers vs. fins until she\’s around 8, right?  What a joy it must be around your particular family at the holidays … I\’m envious.

7. sweetie - Tuesday November 27, 2007

Oh my gosh Lynn,   just reading about those trees makes me ill…… I had something sort of similar happen when we moved.  I have spent years making Halloween costumes  (and very nice ones too), and when we moved I believe they were donated to the local charity store.  It made me sick because I had such a wonderful assortment and didn\’t find out they were gone till we were ready to get them out for the Halloween festivities…
  Oh sorry about the gallbladder issues… darn it .. it it isn\’t one thing it is another.   I hope they get you taken care of. 
   I\’m about 95% done with the Christmas shopping… now it is cold outside and I don\’t want to go out and finish.. bad vallerie.. hehehe.. OH well.. hope all is going well for you.  Vallerie

8. Randa Roo - Tuesday November 27, 2007

That sounds like something Jesse would do, just throw things out…I think I lost baby clothing that way…He is truely a minimalist… I can\’t wait to hear what your mom says about the tree…My dad one year cut the tree wrong and it ended up only being 4 1/2 feet tall…mom was not happy.  it was hillarious.  ohhh holidays.  I love em!
Love and hugs! 
Randa

9. Sleepdeprived - Tuesday November 27, 2007

Mike definitely has to fess up to your Momma! Then he still owes you a beautiful present! I vote for a coupon book full of Get outta the House free cards! That means NO KIDS!! Of any shape or size!! At least 20 of \’em that last ALL DAY LONG, no questions or complaints!
Yeah . . . I know! I\’m a hopeless romantic!
 
I\’ll be praying for ya, sweetie! Let us know what the Docs decide. Hugs!

10. Armando - Wednesday November 28, 2007

I want you well. You\’ve been dealing with this stuff too long. Here\’s hoping that your recovery comes soon without major life changes.
I am so sorry about the trees, especially the heirloom one. I know that was sad to realize it had been tossed.
May you have a blessing and quick recovery precious.
((big big biiiiiiiiiiig hug))
Love ya,
Michelle

11. Kat - Wednesday November 28, 2007

I hate to hear about your tree – what a bummer!  Definitely should have Mike spill the beans to Mom though, his fault – all his fault!  LOL!  I hope you have your answer about the gall bladder and you are feeling better soon.
Kat

12. Donene - Wednesday November 28, 2007

Look at it as a mini-vacation. You can go in and order the nurse\’s around, they cook for you, clean up after you, wait on you hand and foot. Wait a minute, I need one of them mini-vacation\’s!! LOL. Have a good one.

13. Cindy - Wednesday November 28, 2007

My brother had his gall bladder out … piece a cake.  You are going to be great!! (Yeah … I know … I hate it when people say that to me too … Sue me!)
 
Ok … get this … when I\’m talking to the pre-therapist … I\’m whining away about how miserable I am blah blah blah (I see a psychiatrist there FYI) for about 15 minutes and she goes "You\’re awfully young for Medicare" and I realize she doesn\’t know thing one about me because she didn\’t even look at the chart they have on me and I have to tell the stupid wench I\’m bipolar.  WTF! 
 

14. Holy - Thursday November 29, 2007

Not the heirloom tree?!!! Yikes.  Why is it most men were deprived of the aesthetic gene, and the ones who weren\’t are gay?  Why is that? I\’ve often wondered about this.
 
Glad you enjoyed parts of Thanksgiving.  And look on the bright side…you got to enjoy your meal twice – coming and going.  🙂

15. Tani - Thursday November 29, 2007

<GASP> He didn\’t !!! They just don\’t make em like tey used to.  I finally got the tree of my dreams 10 yrs ago or so ,and now it hasn\’t been up but once in the last 5 yrs. I really can\’t imagine where we could even put it this year with so many ppl living here.All the Babies stuff takes up an incredible amt of room too. Hope you found a suitable replacement.

16. SAAM - Saturday December 1, 2007

Yes, Mike should tell your mother and take his punishment like a man, especially since, if he were not a man, then the tree would not have been thrown out!!


Leave a comment